what's your story?

Help! My Blog is Schizophrenic!

Why do I blog?

The money, the power, the prestige.  Ha ha.

I’m sure people wonder why I blog.  With my second blogging anniversary just having passed I have been asking myself the same question.  Technically though my blogging anniversary is a fluid concept sort of like some celebrity birthdays (and marriages).   I got off to a really slow start publishing one post a month from the last quarter of 2012  until the first quarter of 2013 when I doubled my output (2 posts a month!).

I was on a roll! There’s no stopping me now.  Why do I do it?

  • I like to write.  I don’t have the interest or discipline to write a book.  Law firm writing suited me perfectly – precise, non-fiction and factual.  I’ve enjoyed, however, writing about matters that are less dry than the topics I used to cover as a lawyer (e.g., the relative competitiveness of major players in the cement industry or the risk factors associated with the use of barely-seaworthy cargo ships).  I kid you not.  I really did waste hours of my youth researching for, and writing about, such topics.
what's your story?

Everyone has a story.

  • Believe it or not, being a stay at home mother is not all coffee mornings and time at the gym. It is long days of chaos and confusion interspersed with mind-numbing tedium.  If you don’t keep yourself interesting, then God knows, your children won’t.
Yes, this is  my day. Every day.

Yes, this is my day. Every day.

  • My blog is a record-keeper of our family’s times and interests.  By the time my children get around to asking about their childhood, I may not be around or, just as likely, have lost my marbles.  I wonder if my children will read about poured cement floors with the same distaste that I accord shag carpeting these days.
fabric swatches from 2013

Colours and patterns from 2013

  • My blog has turned into a journal of our family travels.  Having a blog has forced me to pay attention to the details and to capture moments in my head before I put words to paper.  It’s so very easy to forget the details.  In some ways, I am sorry I did not start blogging earlier.  With the passing of time, I have forgotten details of trips we have taken or activities we did.  For example, Mr. N and I found this fantastic little Italian restaurant in Rapallo in Liguria tucked away on some backstreet.  We ate dinner 3 out of the 5 nights at this restaurant but now can’t remember what it was called.
travel

We want to travel everywhere!

  • I have always loved photography and now I have another reason to snap away.  My children are thankful they are no longer the sole subject of my camera lenses.  In fact, instead of complaining about having to take photos, now they are always photobombing my pictures.  It’s a variation of that old adage – treat ’em mean, keep ’em keen.

For a record-keeping exercise, this blog is neither very introspective nor very personal for the simple reason that  I despise navel-gazing.  I am perfectly happy accepting that I am not a special little snowflake.

This introduction brings me to The Big Announcement.  I’ve given my blog its annual check-up and in my best non-medical expertise have diagnosed a severe case of schizophrenia. So far my blog’s multiple personalities revolve around home, family and travel.  I hate to use the word lifestyle because I don’t actually have much of a lifestyle. (I consider Netflix one of the best things that ever happened to my life, right after getting married and having children.)

I can empathise.

I can empathise.

Although I will continue to post here about homes and family, I’ve decided to send my travel posts away to their own little home.  From now onwards, my travel posts will only appear exclusively at Just Go places blog, the blog for the family travel inspiration website I am associated with, Just Go Places.  I’d love it if you joined me there.

So, thanks to all my readers for following along with my random musings. Now you can find me at two places. I still find it amazing that anyone reads these posts but Google Analytics assures me that lots of you do.  And, if I don’t trust Google, who can I possibly trust?!

What's Up Doc?

