wire mood board

Learning to Create a Tactile Moodboard

At the Hive 2014 European Bloggers Conference in Copenhagen recently, I was really inspired by a talk given by Gudy Herder of Eclectic Trends on creating tactile mood boards.  I am used to creating digital mood boards such as those I created for the paint colours at our summer house or for the my perfect bathroom CP Hart challenge last year.

It has been a long time, however, since I created a tactile mood board.  Tactile mood boards can include string mood boards, clipboards, wooden panels and wired grid.

Here is Gudy’s advice on creating mood boards:

  1. Have a title that is precise.
  2. Use 3-5 keywords on the mood board such as nouns and adjectives, including emotions.
  3. Decide on what colours you will use.
  4. Use approximately 40% materials otherwise the mood board is lacking in texture.  You might as well have a digital mood board.
  5. Put your most important images in the middle.
  6. Stick everything in place at the end.

In addition, I always thought of mood boards as a way to convey an interior design.  I have never actually thought about mood boards in other contexts such as travel or holidays.  Gudy explained mood boards are not confined to design contexts.  For example, you can create a travel mood board for a particular destination or around a weekend away.

I chose to create a mood board about the Hive 2014 conference itself.  Here’s my effort:

Hive 14 moodboard

Hive 14 moodboard

Most of the items are probably self-explanatory – design elements, business cards of fellow attendees and workshop providers, silly pictures from the Photo Booth provided by Bugaboo and the announcement of next year’s Hive being in Berlin.  I taped some of the items with washi tape because bloggers seem to gravitate towards washi tape like a moth to a flame.   On the top right side, I love the creativity that is in this business card/origami ring by fellow blogger, Kris O Tin from A Ce Soir.

If I were to do a self-assessment of my mood board, onn the positive side, I did have a title that is precise.  Yay me!  I also did write 3 keywords.  My pattern and colours echo the graphic element of Scandinavian design.  After black and white, the colours I related to most often were red and orange.

I didn’t, however, put the most important images in the middle.  In my mind, the Photo Booth images are the most important because they convey the emotions of happiness and friendliness.  I just couldn’t figure out a way to keep that in the centre though without having it look boringly symmetrical.

How do you think I did?  I don’t mind if you give me an E for Effort 🙂

12 thoughts on “Learning to Create a Tactile Moodboard

  1. Doris

    Thank you so much for sharing Gudys talk Shobha! I’m so glad I got yo read about it as I really wish I had been there in real life! Great post and your board looks great😃

    Reply
  2. eclectictrends

    This is such a good sum up! Thank you for for this excellent post! Regarding your collage, not always the main message has to be in the center I believe unless you really want to make a point but sometimes the entire board explains the story and that is just fine too. I would love to see you doing mood boards more frequently, just hope you got inspired by any of the columns we have been talking about! Gudy x

    Reply
    1. nylonliving Post author

      Thanks for the inspiration Gudy! I am definitely planning a monthly mood board, probably on travel. My comfort zone is interiors mood boards so I was thinking of trying something new.

      Reply
  3. Danish Exchange

    This is such a great article and a really great summary of Gudy’s workshop/presentation. Feeling rather touched to be on your mood board. Looking forward to seeing the travel ones. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Dayo Forster

    I am re-doing my kitchen and started to collect some items to go on a tactile mood board. The problem is that the main items are all too heavy! My oak floor and kitchen top samples will need an uber-glue on a sturdy large-format card for me to start my imagining. So I am now back to a digital mood board, and would love suggestions for a software tool that will help me create one. Pinterest helps me collect ideas but does not help me collate all the elements into a single image.

    Reply
    1. nylonliving Post author

      I like Polyvore which is really easy to use for creating digital mood boards. All of my digital mood boards are created using that site. Also, you should note that no matter how good your computer resolution etc., the colours won’t be quite exact on digital. If you would like work with the actual materials so that you can get the nuances of texture and colour, how about a floor mood board? you don’t need to glue it on, stick it on the floor or on a tray or a large piece of the wood flooring sample so you can move it about?

      Reply

What's Up Doc?

