cup of macaroni

I Say Mac ‘N’ Cheese, You Say Cheesy Pasta

A bowlful of macaroni and cheese reminds me of my childhood.  Although the term Mac & Cheese is particularly American, I’m sure that there are variations of it in many countries since pasta is associated with cheese like Miley and twerking.  My Australian friend calls it cheesy pasta.  By whatever name, it is one of the ultimate comfort food recipes.

Mac & Cheese cover

I am now LOVING this Mac ‘N’ Cheese cookbook by Laura Washburn having run out of variations I created myself for mixing cheese and pasta for my children.  My daughter can live on pasta but my son gets bored quickly.  It’s not easy keeping them both happy because I do not have time to cook separate meals for them.

cup of macaroni

The book has 30+ variations on this old standby dish combining different cheeses and ingredients in interesting ways.  The first recipe is the classic dish and then sections detail ways of adding vegetables, fish and meat.  There is nothing old-school about many of these recipes, which include Provencal Tomatoes and Goat Cheese or Smoked Haddock and Spinach.  I want to try Lobster Thermidor because lobster mac & cheese is one of my favourite New England dishes at our summer house.

From the book, we have made for family meals the Chicken Alfredo (parmesan cheese and poached chicken) and the Chorizo, Sweet Pepper & Manchego variety.  The Spanish flavours in the last one was a huge hit in our family.  The book has not only recipes that children will eat happily but also flavours for a more sophisticated palate.

by the fire

photo: Ryland & Peters

I really like the international spin on some of these recipes.  For example, you could try the dish based on the traditional recipe for moussaka (minced lamb and graviera cheese) or tartiflette (leek, bacon and Reblochon cheese).

mushroom_macaroni_cheese

Mac ‘n’ Cheese by Laura Washburn is published by Ryland Peters & Small.  The photographer is Steve Painter.  It costs £9.99 in hardback.  You can get a sneak preview of the scrumptious recipes and photos on Amazon.

I was provided my copy of the book Mac & Cheese free of charge in exchange for my review but all words and opinions are my own.

6 thoughts on “I Say Mac ‘N’ Cheese, You Say Cheesy Pasta

  1. ginahowie

    Yum! – Looks wonderful. I will have a look at the cookbook {I have quite a growing collection which I enjoy reading and looking at the pictures more than I actually enjoy cooking and making the dishes}. Nothing says comfy cozy more to me than mac’n’cheese. It is definitely a comfort food.

    Reply
  2. Victoria Welton (@VicWelton)

    This book looks fab! I love chicken alfredo – it’s gorgeous 🙂 It’s funny because I have always called it Macaroni Cheese, not really heard mac & cheese until recently. Thank you for linking to PoCoLo – great to see you again 🙂 x

    Reply
  3. oddlyactive

    All your variations look lovely, but my fave as a kid was just plain ol’ very cheddary macaroni cheese with TINNED tomatoes. Come to think of it, I also loved cheese and potato pie with tinned tomatoes… I guess I just like the juice from tinned toms with squishy cheesy stuff, then. Am I a cheap date or what! (#PoCoLo etc)

    Reply

What's Up Doc?

