teapot ornament

The Silk Route and a Spot of Shopping

I’m sure you all know that I have got a soft spot for Designers Guild. When I was refurbishing our house, I used their award-winning Portier wallpaper as the basis for the colour scheme.portier wa.So, I was thrilled when at Meet the Blogger Amsterdam, I won a Designers Guild wool throw in a raffle. I went along to the Marylebone Designers Guild store to pick up my prize and discovered I had won the beautiful Kashgar throw in jade and emerald tones.

Kashgar blanket

The autumn/winter 2013 Designers Guild collection is inspired by the Silk Road.  These new designs include vibrant and colourful damask, arabesque, florals and stripes in cottons, linens, silks, velvets and taffetas.  As usual, they come as wallpapers and fabrics.  The lifestyle accessories such as rugs and throws make great gifts.

caviglia-fuchsia-lifestyle-front-main

Not only are the patterns a visual feast but also the textures of the materials used.  The collection has some great exotic names such as Kashgar, Byzantium, Treviso and Alexandria.

I don’t know if I want to run away to these destinations or wrap myself up in my Kashgar throw!

I, of course, couldn’t resist a snoop around the store and found these fabulous ornaments.  Gorgeous and reasonably priced (individual ornaments are less than £10), they make great gifts.

Another great idea for a great gift include the trays from New York’s decoupage king, John Derian.  They are all made by hand by a team of artists in John Derian’s New York studio based on his collection of vintage prints.

What was my favourite piece?  The coloured vases which look stunning empty or filled.

coloured vases

If you have the chance, you should check out the Designers Guild stores or their online store.

2 thoughts on “The Silk Route and a Spot of Shopping

What's Up Doc?

