National Garden Scheme – The Old Vicarage

Did you know that over 4000 private gardens are open throughout Britain as part of the National Garden Scheme (NGS)?  Members of the pubic can visit these gardens for a nominal fee which is donated to charities such as Macmillan Cancer Support and Marie Curie Cancer Care.  Clearly lots of people take advantage of this opportunity because the NGS contributed GBP 2.6 million in 2012 as a result of this scheme.  This past weekend, June 15-16, saw approximately 800 gardens opened for the weekend and I took the opportunity to visit a few.

One of my favourites was The Old Vicarage in Firle, East Sussex.  The Old Vicarage is a beautiful Grade II listed house with gardens designed by the landscape architect Lanning Roper in the 1960’s.  Although he was American, Roper did a lot of work in England including acting as Prince Charles’ landscape gardener for Highgrove in the 1980’s.

horses

The 4 acre garden is set around the beautiful Regency vicarage and has views of the surrounding countryside. Traditional touches include approximately a hundred variety of roses and pleached lime trees.

pleached_limes

There is a traditional walled garden with vegetable parterres and flower borders.  Through the vegetable garden, another walled garden contains the swimming pool.

vegetable_garden

The pond is to the side of the vegetable garden and also set in its own fenced area.

pond_willow

An archway leads up to the wildflower meadow which hides the tennis courts from view of the house.

archway

This garden felt like a child’s paradise.

wildflower meadow

Plenty of space to run and play and lots of nooks in which to create “secret” spaces and dens.

hide and seek int

An adult would also have plenty of enjoyment – the walled gardens promote a sense of privacy and seclusion that would otherwise be lost in a 4 acre garden.  Each area has a separate ambience so that it feels like lots of gardens.  You could sit in the sunshine, lounge by the pool or putter around the vegetable patch as you felt like it.

We were quite smitten with this garden and (for a brief afternoon) we thought of trading in our urban life for pastoral bliss.  The children could run around the house and gardens bathed in a hazy sunlight just like you see when someone remembers an English childhood in BBC dramas (usually Before Tragedy Strikes).  I would be in a big floppy hat and long, flowing dress, carrying a trug with freshly-cut flowers for the house.

It’s a nice dream but I simply can’t imagine the expense and maintenance a house and garden like The Old Vicarage would cost.  And I’d have to drive to the nearest coffee shop.  Nope.  No can do.

If you want to see more photos, check out  my Flickr stream.

16 thoughts on “National Garden Scheme – The Old Vicarage

    1. nylonliving Post author

      Yes, it is very English isn’t it? I find it amusing that it was done by an American although by all accounts he was an Anglophile from an old East Coast family.

      Reply
  1. @700words

    some beautiful photography. Love the foxgloves, we recently bought some and they are a particularly photogenic plant! I always think this would be a lovely way to spend a weekend, but have never yet stumbled across one at an opportune moment.

    Reply
    1. nylonliving Post author

      To be fair, we were at my in-laws who are keen gardeners. I’m not sure I’d have gone if they hadn’t lived in the area. It seemed an enjoyable way to spend the day (wander about pretty surroundings providing safe conversation topics).

      Reply
  2. Shell Louise

    Aww I love the photo of your daughter under the tree. It looks like a great place to spend an afternoon. Every year I say I want to visit some NGS gardens but I haven’t made it to any yet. Maybe this summer I’ll make it to at least one!

    Reply
    1. nylonliving Post author

      Me too! It’s my favourite photo as she is having so much fun in the willow branches. I love the whole NGS scheme – only started this year and am addicted.

      Reply
  3. justphotosbyme

    I shall add the NGS gardens onto my list of places to visit. I think I’ve reached the age where it suddenly becomes a wonderful thing to do rather than desperately uncool. I may have to go on my own with the camera though, to avoid annoying the children!

    Reply
    1. nylonliving Post author

      Ha ha. Geek chic is now cool you know. My kids like going just to get squash drinks (which they never have at home) and cakes they invariably sell. All the sugar does explain the running around in the garden they do.

      Reply
    1. nylonliving Post author

      Me too! So graceful and pretty. I know I’ll never have a weeping willow though because Mr. N, ever practical, would stress about water being too close to our house foundations.

      Reply

What's Up Doc?

